Singapore Expats

PR Rejection

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
Alexander0

PR Rejection

Post by Alexander0 » Thu, 09 Nov 2017 9:53 pm

Hello everyone,

I applied PR in June and I've just been rejected. I am a bit down as I do project myself in Singapore.

My profile is the following:
- I applied together with my wife
- I have been working in Singapore for 8 years while she has been here for 4 years
- We are both early thirties
- I am from Germany and she is from Korea
- I work in an international bank and she works in the F&B industry
- We are both in local contracts, our salaries are standard for our respective industries and experience
- This is my second application, I applied by myself in 2015, before we were married
- We received the letter that mentions we can still reside and work in Singapore

It feels quite hard for caucasian to have successful PR applications recently. Has anyone shared a similar experience this year, any counterexample? Is there any way to have more details on the cause of the rejection?

Thank you

BBCDoc
Chatter
Chatter

Re: PR Rejection

Post by BBCDoc » Thu, 09 Nov 2017 11:34 pm

Although race can influence some decisions, most likely is the feasibility of either of you to be replaced by locals? Do your particular skill sets truly differentiate and elevate you above locals/ regional talent? Something that cannot be learnt or acquired through experience in the role? Do you have proof through overachievement, reflected by promotion or compensation?

You may have to look deep inside and critically assess what you really bring to the table.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
There's always room for one more

Strong Eagle
Answers: 9

Post by Strong Eagle » Fri, 10 Nov 2017 1:47 am