Singapore Expats

Regarding volunteer works for PR application

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
HyungJon

Regarding volunteer works for PR application

Post by HyungJon » Tue, 03 Oct 2017 9:52 pm

Hi, I'm a Korean NUS graduate who's trying to get employed and eventually apply for PR. Now that I've graduated I think it's a good time to start doing volunteer work to improve my chances of getting a PR, but I'm not sure which activity to join. So I'd like to ask the others what kind of jobs might be the best for applying for PR.

Of course, I'm aware ICA doesn't disclose how it makes its decisions so I know I can't get definitive answers. I'm just looking for anecdotes and at least speculations regarding this matter that might be helpful in deciding.

1. Is the type of activity likely to affect the application? e.g. is helping the elderly more likely to impress ICA than, say, helping animals?
2. Would ICA care how active the volunteer work is (e.g. weekly vs monthly vs only at certain events) or just about how long I've been volunteering?
3. Is a testimonial from the volunteer organization going to be critical? Or is any documented proof about how long I've been volunteering likely to be enough?
4. Any other recommendations regarding what volunteer work to do?

Thanks for any advices you could provide.

BBCDoc
Chatter
Chatter

Re: Regarding volunteer works for PR application

Post by BBCDoc » Tue, 03 Oct 2017 10:33 pm

Hi there,

You are doing volunteer work, not out of altruism, but for personal gain.

Better to focus on career and family planning, worked for me in 4 years.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
There's always room for one more

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Tue, 03 Oct 2017 10:52 pm

^^^^Spot on. And ICA are wise to that now. As usual people tend to burn the bridges for those who follow.