Singapore Expats

Tax on goods i bought from my home country

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.
Brittany

Tax on goods i bought from my home country

Post by Brittany » Mon, 31 Jul 2017 11:56 am

Hello, I'm new to Sing', an Employment Pass holder.

Can anyone help by answering me, if I go back to my home country for a short vacation like 3 to 7 days and buy cosmetics/face care products and bring them back to Sing' for my own consumption, in this case, when i go back to Sing' and upon arrival at the customs, do i have to declare these goods and pay tax for these?

How about inexpensive items like new clothes, a pair of new sneakers, a hairdryer, some printed books?

How about a new handbag costing around SGD 460? A new pair of leather shoes costing about SGD1,000?

I need your help :) Deeply appreciate!

PNGMK
Answers: 10

Re: Tax on goods i bought from my home country

Post by PNGMK » Mon, 31 Jul 2017 1:07 pm

Brittany wrote:Hello, I'm new to Sing', an Employment Pass holder.

Can anyone help by answering me, if I go back to my home country for a short vacation like 3 to 7 days and buy cosmetics/face care products and bring them back to Sing' for my own consumption, in this case, when i go back to Sing' and upon arrival at the customs, do i have to declare these goods and pay tax for these?

How about inexpensive items like new clothes, a pair of new sneakers, a hairdryer, some printed books?

How about a new handbag costing around SGD 460? A new pair of leather shoes costing about SGD1,000?

I need your help :) Deeply appreciate!
For residents there is a GST free limit for new goods - I think it's around $900? Google is your friend. You'll get away a few times but if ICA believe you're engaging in commercial levels of importation (frequently on or above the limit) you'll be stopped.
I not lawyer/teacher/CPA.