Singapore Expats

Has anyone been able to negotiate local+ education allowance offer?

Moving to Singapore? Ask our regular expats in Singapore questions on relocation and their experience here. Ask about banking, employment pass, insurance, visa, work permit, citizenship or immigration issues.

Sponsored by:

Utrust Immigration
maybeSing2017

Has anyone been able to negotiate local+ education allowance offer?

Post by maybeSing2017 » Wed, 03 May 2017 11:15 am

Hello;
Newbie here. Looking to move to Singapore from North America, we are considering an offer, cash component is ok, but after budgeting, we are a bit worried if we'll save much after paying for int'l schooling. Curious if recent expats were able to negotiate a local+ package, especially for kids. Please excuse if this topic has been beaten to death, as I wasn't able to find a 2016/17 post that specifically got into education allowance.

It's also proving a tough decision for us as we are used to a very generous full insurance package where I currently work plus excellent mat/pat leave...all which are pretty thin in the package presented to me.

Thanks for the wisdom of the crowd he
Last edited by maybeSing2017 on Fri, 05 May 2017 11:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

PNGMK
Answers: 10

Re: Has anyone been able to negotiate local+ education allowance offer?

Post by PNGMK » Wed, 03 May 2017 11:30 am

It's unlikely a local package will include an education component as this would then have to be offered to all locals at the same level as you! You should look for housing and car allowances and ensure the total pay is sufficient bearing in mind the cheapest American school (ICS) is around USD25,000 p.a. per kid. Remember income tax is considerably lower here but you are liable for US income tax above the FEIE (foreign earned income exclusion - currently $102,000 I think).