Singapore Expats

Powerlifting Gyms

Discuss about beauty & health. Need some advice or looking for a particular product? Share your beauty and health tips here.
newforest2014

Powerlifting Gyms

Post by newforest2014 » Tue, 15 Nov 2016 12:29 pm

Hi,

I'm new to Singapore and struggling to find a place to work out. The only gyms I can find are crowded, overpriced globo-gym chains with little in the way of squat racks, benches, or heavy weights. I don't want a PT studio either.

Are there any old school gyms in Singapore? Even places like Golds Gym would be favorable to what I have seen so far. I'm really surprised as given the amount of money and expats in this city I figure someone would have opened the type of real gyms you get in LA, Boston, New York, London, etc. I'm posting on this forum in the hope there is somewhere under the radar people know about...

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Re: Powerlifting Gyms

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Tue, 15 Nov 2016 1:13 pm

Have you done a search of this forum? It's been discussed a number of times (but so has the globo gyms as well so you will still have to sift through the threads). Here are a couple of the latest ones that don't dwell on places like California Fitness and their ilk.

http://forum.singaporeexpats.com/viewtopic.php?t=108506

http://forum.singaporeexpats.com/viewtopic.php?t=103186
SOME PEOPLE TRY TO TURN BACK THEIR ODOMETERS. NOT ME. I WANT PEOPLE TO KNOW WHY I LOOK THIS WAY. I'VE TRAVELED A LONG WAY, AND SOME OF THE ROADS WEREN'T PAVED. ~ Will Rogers

newforest2014

Post by newforest2014 » Tue, 15 Nov 2016 2:32 pm

sundaymorningstaple wrote:Have you done a search of this forum? It's been discussed a number of times (but so has the globo gyms as well so you will still have to sift through the threads). Here are a couple of the latest ones that don't dwell on places like California Fitness and their ilk.

http://forum.singaporeexpats.com/viewtopic.php?t=108506