Singapore Expats Forum

5 questions, employment pass

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

nicolas-paris

5 questions, employment pass

Postby nicolas-paris » Fri, 04 Feb 2005 2:58 am

Hi everyone!

Five questions on employment...I'm a Cambridge graduate and have been working as a journalist in Paris for the past four years. i'll be moving to Sing in the next couple of months. I was there last week and established good contacts with potential employers (in research, I have an economics background). Sounds like good prospects but here are a few question marks:

-One research institute might be offering a three month contract. Which would be a good start. But if my salary is crap, will it reflect on the nature of my employment pass and subsequent ability to find a long-term job?

-Another institute says it would need me for temporary missions in the next few months. In other words they are unable to promise a salary + full-time job. Is there any way of getting an employment permit for this kind of work or do I need to get a pass elsewhere so I can work for them too?

-Once I have an employment pass, can I work for several people?

- Is it true that one can register a business online and cater to several different clients as a consultant? Do I need a precise business plan for the Ministry of Manpower? Can I do that now before I move to Sing?

-Another institute is offering me an internship. 3 months, 1,500 Sing $ a month + medical. I can't think of an employment pass for this kind of salary...but they say they'll sponsor me. What kind of pass is that gg to be? And would anyone say that accepting an internship in Sing at age 27 is pure madness?

Many thanks, sorry about the length...

Nicolas
French jousnalist to settle in Singapore Feb 2005

Strong Eagle

Re: 5 questions, employment pass

Postby Strong Eagle » Fri, 04 Feb 2005 10:31 am

nicolas-paris wrote:Hi everyone!