Singapore Expats Forum

PR for foreign spouse? I'm an SC.

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
mywifeiskorean

PR for foreign spouse? I'm an SC.

Postby mywifeiskorean » Mon, 10 Oct 2016 12:44 am

Hi folks,

I'm a typical Singaporean citizen while my fiancee is a Korean, living and working in Korea at the moment. We intend to get a hdb flat and live happily ever after here in SG :D .

After our marriage, is there an advisable time frame to apply for PR? With the HDB application in mind, i would like to get her to apply for PR asap, though is it worth waiting to do so only after she's secured a job, or after staying here for a while etc? And the obvious question with the not so obvious answer.. how long do you guys think it will take?

I'm a local grad and have been working for a few years with my salary > S$5000.
She's a grad from a Korean uni, working as a cabin attendant.

ecureilx
Immortal
Immortal

Re: RE: PR for foreign spouse? I'm an SC.

Postby ecureilx » Mon, 10 Oct 2016 11:06 am

mywifeiskorean wrote:Hi folks,

I'm a typical Singaporean citizen while my fiancee is a Korean, living and working in Korea at the moment. We intend to get a hdb flat and live happily ever after here in SG :D .

After our marriage, is there an advisable time frame to apply for PR? With the HDB application in mind, i would like to get her to apply for PR asap, though is it worth waiting to do so only after she's secured a job, or after staying here for a while etc? And the obvious question with the not so obvious answer.. how long do you guys think it will take?

As of now, LTVP will be sooner to get.

PR will be favorable after 3 years, but that shouldn't stop you from applying after a year.

With the current changes, with LTVP, you can seek advice from HDB, after marriage.

How long will LTVP take ? 4 to 6 weeks.

How long with PR take ? 6 months to 18 months.

taxico
Director
Director