Singapore Expats Forum

$1800 reasonable to ask for graphic designer?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

$1800 reasonable to ask for graphic designer?

Postby Guest » Wed, 02 Feb 2005 9:16 am

i've a job interview in singapore somewhere next week. i read in some previous posts that starting salaries for designers is about $1300-1600 ..

thing is i was wondering about work permit<>employment pass.. i'd rather have an employment pass which seems to start at a salary from $1800.. anyone know whether it is reasonable to ask this amount?

btw i am a fresh graduate, BA in Design from Hong kong. also have MA in psychology.. dunno whether that matters.

Postby Guest » Thu, 03 Feb 2005 12:02 am

not easy to find job in Singapore now without experience. suggest u just take the job to gain experience

local boy :)

Francis28

Postby Francis28 » Thu, 03 Feb 2005 3:47 pm

yup, take up that one friend, and see where you'll go from there. btw, are you keen on settling down in sg in future?

Guess

Postby Guess » Fri, 18 Feb 2005 1:37 pm

Hi Guest,

got a part time available for you. Care to leave me your e-mail and i will contact you shortly.

ah zero

Postby ah zero » Sun, 20 Feb 2005 10:29 am

thanks for replies everyone.. i think i'll follow that advice and worry bout the EP later.. it's just that i feel having an EP at least gets me a bit more on the way to a PR..

francis28:
although i do like singapore for personal reasons i like the comforting feeling not to having to leave the country when i'm out of a job (hence the PR) ..

have the same thing in HK now, after my student visa expires i've 2 months to find a job or otherwise leave.. first time i've been in this position and frankly i don't like it very much.

guess:
my e-mail is tsungyow@yahoo.com.hk, always interested in doing work..

jpatokal

Postby jpatokal » Wed, 23 Feb 2005 10:36 pm