Singapore Expats

Can EP holder with an MNC work as part time teacher in a private institute?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
newonesg

Can EP holder with an MNC work as part time teacher in a private institute?

Post by newonesg » Sun, 21 Aug 2016 3:30 pm

Hello everyone,

I am currently working on an Employment pass with a MNC in Singapore. I work in the software industry. Recently I have been approached by a private corporate coaching institute to teach a course related to my domain. They would like me to teach few hours a week after my office hours. As per my understanding, this will be a part time job as they would be offering me some monetary benefits for the course I teach. Since I am on an employment pass with my current employer I would like to know the following:

1. Am I allowed (as per MOM policies) to work part time with another company?

2. If no, is there an alternative way to address this situation? (I would really like to consider teaching as it is a good way to share and grow with like minded people. It will give me a good exposure and also help me network)

3. A friend suggested that I can start a sole proprietorship company (keeping my current EP and job intact). In this way I can claim to have my own company and invoice the teaching institute through my company in a legal way. Is this possible? Can an EP holder also have a sole proprietorship?

I kindly request you to guide me in this situation. Though I would love to consider this opportunity I want to be very sure I do not break any legal rules in Singapore. Please help me with a appropriate way to address my problem.

Thank you in advance.

Regards

ecureilx
Immortal
Immortal

Re: RE: Can EP holder with an MNC work as part time teacher in a private institute?

Post by ecureilx » Sun, 21 Aug 2016 3:44 pm

newonesg wrote:Hello everyone,