Singapore Expats

PR application questions and approval chances

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
WoShiDavid95

PR application questions and approval chances

Post by WoShiDavid95 » Fri, 19 Aug 2016 8:57 pm

Okay, I am 21 this year and I'm a 3rd year Indonesian-Chinese male student studying in NTU's Chemical Engineering. I've been studying in Singapore since 2008, which is from the start of Secondary 1, so I took both my O and A levels in Singapore and I will be completing my Bachelors' Degree here too and I also have a 3 year Tuition Grant bond which I have to serve upon graduation in 2018 by working in Singapore, but that is inconsequential as I wanted to work here anyway.

I intend to apply for PR 6 months after I start working, since one of the requirements is that we need 6 months of payslips. So the question is, I don't have to wait for 3 years of Income Tax Notice Assessments right when I start working here right?

What are my chances of approval then? Assuming I get a job with a starting pay of $3000/month which is the typical salary for an NTU graduate, and that I apply after 6 months. It would be less than the $3600/month required for an EP, but in my case I'd get an EP anyway because I am bonded to the government. I'm ethnically Chinese, I've been here since 2008 and I am conversant in Chinese (Took Chinese as a mother tongue in school) and Singlish as well as a result. I can easily pass as a Singaporean because of this since I also have an English first name, so I have pretty much integrated into Singaporean society. This is why I want to apply for PR, I've grown attached to the place and it feels more like home to me than Indonesia.