Singapore Expats

CPF interest and FBAR?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
neefo

CPF interest and FBAR?

Post by neefo » Sun, 19 Jun 2016 6:34 am

I'm a US Permanent Resident and a Singapore Citizen. I'm wondering if my CPF account needs to be reported to the US IRS using the FBAR? how about the interest on the CPF? I can never touch the account until i reach retirement age...the interest that the CPF pays cannot be touched either....

so what should i do about my CPF account to the US tax authorities?

confused...

BBCWatcher
Editor
Editor

Re: CPF interest and FBAR?

Post by BBCWatcher » Sun, 19 Jun 2016 8:15 am

Here's the general consensus as best I can determine it. I'm going to try to cover everything CPF-related in the U.S. context in one post.

1. Although slightly ambiguous, it appears that CPF accounts are FinCEN Form 114 reportable. (And IRS Form 8938 reportable as well.) There's no harm in overreporting while there is harm in underreporting, so it's best to err on the side of reporting.

2. CPF interest is U.S. reportable and taxable as it is credited, in each year.

3. Employer and (on edit/corrected; see the follow-up post below) employee contributions are U.S. reportable and taxable when made, in each year, and are not earned income for purposes of the Foreign Earned Income Exclusion. (The latter part is a bit strange, but the IRS itself said as much many years ago in a letter and hasn't said otherwise since.) Hypothetically, if somebody else can pay into your CPF account -- a one-time bonus paid by the government, for example -- then that'd probably be U.S. reportable and taxable income, too. (One exception: government social welfare payments based on need are generally not U.S. taxable -- for example, hypothetically, if the government tops up your account because you're poor.)