Singapore Expats Forum

RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
nanana
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri, 25 Apr 2008

RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby nanana » Sat, 07 May 2016 12:53 pm

I'm not sure what is this. But everytime when I turn on my computer this little box with "RegisterSpySweeper.exe - Entry Point Not Found "pops up. Just started 2 days ago.

Further message includes "The procedure entry point ucrtbase.terminate could not be located in the dynamic link library. api-ms-win-crt-runtime-I1-1-0.dll"

Now, whatever that is, how to get rid of it? I ran my McAfee doesn't seem to work.

vjtvjt
Member
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue, 28 Oct 2014

Re: RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby vjtvjt » Sat, 07 May 2016 8:01 pm

You need to find the location of that file. Have you ran Task Manager and check the process from there? When you locate that run....exe in task manager, right click on that and click open file location. You can delete the file from there.

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Re: RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby JR8 » Sat, 07 May 2016 11:10 pm

Does it appear in 'Start > Control Panel > Add/Remove programs'?

Meanwhile this might help elaborate further, and with some tools - http://www.neuber.com/taskmanager/proce ... r.exe.html
'Do it or do not do it: You will regret both' - Kierkegaard

Bigjohn32819
Regular
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed, 23 Mar 2016

Re: RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby Bigjohn32819 » Sun, 08 May 2016 3:16 pm

try restarting your computer in "safe mode".

then goto Start > Control Panel > Add/Remove programs and you should be able to remove it completely.

User avatar
Brah
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1962
Joined: Sat, 18 Dec 2010

Re: RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby Brah » Sun, 08 May 2016 6:19 pm

Apparently there are multiple iterations of this executable, some may be legit, others not.

I would suggest to download the free version of Malwarebytes and run it to see if you are vulnerable.
Ape Shall Not Kill Ape.

nanana
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri, 25 Apr 2008

Re: RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby nanana » Sun, 08 May 2016 7:54 pm

Managed to remove it through task manager. Thank you guys!

User avatar
Brah
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1962
Joined: Sat, 18 Dec 2010

Re: RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby Brah » Sun, 08 May 2016 8:29 pm

That's good but do a sweep anyway - some stuff comes back after deletion.
Ape Shall Not Kill Ape.

nanana
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri, 25 Apr 2008

Re: RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby nanana » Mon, 09 May 2016 8:53 pm

Oh crap! you are right! Now it is another box that pops up with this message:

MediaContextNotificationWindow: ctlcntrv.exe -Entry Point Not Found
The procedure entry point ucrtbase.terminate could not be located in the dynamic link library api-ms-crt-runtime-|1-1-0.dll

and I can't find this damn thing through task manager. :(

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11050
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Re: RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby Strong Eagle » Mon, 09 May 2016 10:01 pm

SpySweeper.exe was the name of the background AV program for Webroot until 2012 when support for that version of the product expired. You should have been able to upgrade for free at that time.

I use Webroot and like it. I've contacted their tech support team to see if they can provide an answer for you.

In the meanwhile, it would appear that you don't have a malware issue, rather, you are missing parts of an obsolete installation, like the missing dll in your last post.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11050
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Re: RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby Strong Eagle » Tue, 10 May 2016 12:33 am

This is the message I received from Webroot technical support

Hello,

Thank you for contacting Webroot support.

In order to remove any spysweeper remnants from the system, please run the tool below. Let us know if you continue to have any issues.

http://download.webroot.com/WRUpgradeTool.exe


Regards,

The Webroot Support Team

nanana
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri, 25 Apr 2008

Re: RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby nanana » Fri, 13 May 2016 5:10 pm

@strong Eagle, thank you so much!! I'll try to clear it during the weekend. currently i'm just putting up with this annoying pop-up.

Bigjohn32819
Regular
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed, 23 Mar 2016

Re: RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby Bigjohn32819 » Fri, 13 May 2016 7:23 pm

nanana wrote:currently i'm just putting up with this annoying pop-up.


you might consider installing something like adblock plus to block pop-ups ...

https://adblockplus.org

the price is right ... it's free ...

:)

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Re: RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby JR8 » Fri, 13 May 2016 7:32 pm

I use AB+ too - [thumbs up]
'Do it or do not do it: You will regret both' - Kierkegaard

nanana
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri, 25 Apr 2008

Re: RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby nanana » Sat, 14 May 2016 9:23 pm

Strong Eagle wrote:This is the message I received from Webroot technical support

Hello,

Thank you for contacting Webroot support.

In order to remove any spysweeper remnants from the system, please run the tool below. Let us know if you continue to have any issues.

http://download.webroot.com/WRUpgradeTool.exe


Regards,

The Webroot Support Team




not working. :(
the spysweeper popup is gone. but not the mediacontextnotification sh*t. argh!

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11050
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Re: RegisterSpySweeper.exe

Postby Strong Eagle » Sat, 14 May 2016 10:49 pm

I've sent updates along to Webroot... let's see what they say.


Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest