Singapore Expats

Professional Driving Instructor: which new occupation in Singapore?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
Lophophora

Professional Driving Instructor: which new occupation in Singapore?

Post by Lophophora » Tue, 01 Mar 2016 2:31 pm

Hi all,

I am currently a happy professional driving instructor in France and we are moving to SG in April, thanks to my wife who signed an expat contract. Though her salary would probably be enough to allow for our 3-kid family to live reasonably, I don't think I can stay without an occupation for long. Her company says they can provide an EP for me.

Obviously there is no chance I can apply for a similar job than my current occupation in SG since there is no race track there. Do you have ideas or tips about what I could do? My current occupation also includes theoretical training for premium car manufacturers sales consultants. Would that be an option?

x9200

Re: Professional Driving Instructor: which new occupation in Singapore?

Post by x9200 » Tue, 01 Mar 2016 3:23 pm

As a professional driving instructor you will likely be preoccupied with taking care of your own mental health watching the local traffic. If you still have time, you may also consider pursuing a degree (MSc or PhD) with the subject related to the local traffic related phenomena. There should be some good topics, for example, why the local drivers can perfectly park their cars reversing while this is perhaps the only skill they managed to master. Another topic could be, the necessity to reach the car in front for the process of making the decision of changing the lane.

More seriously, you may try what you suggested in the last sentence, but if you want to work, your wife's company should provide you with DP, not EP. I believe some of the cars dealers may consider especially if you are a Caucasian.

PNGMK
Answers: 10

Post by PNGMK » Tue, 01 Mar 2016 3:30 pm