Singapore Expats

Ricedoll's Issues with US Taxation

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
ricedoll
Regular
Regular

Ricedoll's Issues with US Taxation

Post by ricedoll » Thu, 25 Feb 2016 1:15 pm

Strong Eagle, how do you feel about having to file taxes every year and paying additional US taxes (if any) for as long as you are holding your US passport?

Secondly, since I am new to this issue. Does it mean to maintain a valid PR, you need your REP need every 5 years? And to quality for REP renewal, you need to live in Singapore 3/5 years? I read somewhere a while ago, the husband got his PR via his SC wife (they do have a son) and they only use his PR when traveling back to SG for holiday - living overseas now. Only plan to retire in SG in the long future. I didn't question if his PR is still valid now. But in their case, how is his PR still valid? For example in HK, you can get a HKID (PR) after 7 years of living there. Its permanent so you can get your HKID, live in Canada for 30 years, still come back HK with your HKID. In my knowledge, SG PR needs you to be physically in SG right?

BBCWatcher
Editor
Editor

Re: Apply for PR with different passport? (Dual national)

Post by BBCWatcher » Thu, 25 Feb 2016 2:19 pm

ricedoll wrote:Strong Eagle, how do you feel about having to file taxes every year and paying additional US taxes (if any) for as long as you are holding your US passport?
You don't have to go far to answer that question. How do you feel about paying taxes to Singapore as long as you are holding a Singaporean passport (or PR status), with the only exception if you have low income and live in low value housing? Singapore's MediShield Life premiums (taxes) started November 1, 2015.