Singapore Expats

Recycling at workplace

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.
the lynx
Governor
Governor
Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location:

Recycling at workplace

Post by the lynx » Thu, 07 Jan 2016 1:30 pm

Long story short, I've been tasked to start up a recycling initiative in my workplace. In existence, we have ZERO recycling effort - everyone just chuck paper, plastic, batteries in the same bin, much to my chagrin.

But I have zero experience or knowledge to start one. I guess starting a committee sounds like the standard first-move. Do you have recycling system in your workplace? How do you carry it out?

(And do you really have to hire one of those consultancy companies to advise on recycling in workplace?)

lucassmith
Regular
Regular

Re: Recycling at workplace

Post by lucassmith » Thu, 07 Jan 2016 2:33 pm

well my office has those standard recycling bins (red blue green) as we have a centralised dumping area.
perhaps you can start by providing such bins?

a committee would definitely be easier to get everyone involve, if you know what I mean.. :cool:

the lynx
Governor
Governor
Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location:

Post by the lynx » Thu, 07 Jan 2016 3:17 pm

lucassmith wrote:well my office has those standard recycling bins (red blue green) as we have a centralised dumping area.
perhaps you can start by providing such bins?

a committee would definitely be easier to get everyone involve, if you know what I mean.. :cool:
If you work in an office complex, that's very easy to arrange because the building management probably already has own recycling programme.

earthfriendly
Manager
Manager

Post by earthfriendly » Fri, 08 Jan 2016 4:30 am

https://twitter.com/plasticbank/status/ ... 0982534147