Singapore Expats

Overseas fresh grad coming to Singapore

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
freshgradfromcanada

Overseas fresh grad coming to Singapore

Post by freshgradfromcanada » Sun, 29 Nov 2015 1:04 pm

Hi! I recently graduated from a university in Canada with a Commerce (Finance) degree and am interested in finding a job in Singapore. I am interested in applying for management trainee programs, but will such employers take in fresh grads with no real experience? My work history only includes being a part time administrative assistant for 7 years and several paid internships in financial institutions.

If I do get an offer, would I be eligible for an Employment Pass or an S Pass? From what I read on the MOM website, one eligible for an Employment Pass needs to be highly skilled? To me, someone highly skilled is one with years of professional experience. I am just a fresh grad, but I graduated from a reputable institution.

Not looking for too high of a pay. Just $2200/month (as stated on the MOM website for one to be eligible for an S Pass) would be suffice.

Thank you in advance!

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Re: Overseas fresh grad coming to Singapore

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Sun, 29 Nov 2015 2:21 pm

Not going to happen. You need relevant experience. And in the financial sector, unless you are of mid-management lever you are not likely to get a shot as they would have to explain to the MOM why it is necessary to hire a foreign fresher rather than a local fresher who is already schooled in the financial rules and practices here.
SOME PEOPLE TRY TO TURN BACK THEIR ODOMETERS. NOT ME. I WANT PEOPLE TO KNOW WHY I LOOK THIS WAY. I'VE TRAVELED A LONG WAY, AND SOME OF THE ROADS WEREN'T PAVED. ~ Will Rogers

freshgradfromcanada

Post by freshgradfromcanada » Sun, 29 Nov 2015 2:26 pm