Singapore Expats

Visa Run Dilemma for US Citizen

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
YannickLF

Visa Run Dilemma for US Citizen

Post by YannickLF » Fri, 24 Jul 2015 3:08 pm

I am a US passport holder and I have been staying Singapore since February 2015 looking for a job. I am given a 90-day entry pass each time I enter Singapore. So far I’ve done one visa run to Thailand for 7 days and was able to re-enter the country without issue. My next visa run will be to Myanmar for 16 days. I am hoping to re-enter the country and continue my job search.

I usually stay for around 85 days and leave the country for at least 7 days. How many times will I be allowed to come in and out of Singapore for visa runs?

If I am barred from entry, would I be forced to return to the United States?

There is no proof that I am working illegally, overstaying or breaking any laws. If questioned, I am on an extended holiday in the region and using Singapore as my base while I stay with a Singaporean friend. Is this the best way to respond to an interrogation?

bgd
Manager
Manager

Re: Visa Run Dilemma for US Citizen

Post by bgd » Fri, 24 Jul 2015 4:19 pm

There is no defined number of times you can come and go, at least nothing published. If ICA suspect you are gaming the system, e.g. visa runs, then that will be it. Most tourists stay for something like 3 days so you will stand out. Don't rely on your extensions continuing indefinitely.

Have a search of the forum, this has come quite few times in the past.

YannickLF

Post by YannickLF » Fri, 24 Jul 2015 4:44 pm

Thank you.

I have a Singaporean girlfriend and we have taken an LTVP eligibility assessment and it has come back positive. We are unsure whether we will tie the knot, but the assessment serves as an in-principle approval for the LTVP and it makes for a plausible proof of intent for continued short-term visits. Is this a card that should be played?