Singapore Expats

Unmarried Australian spouse following partner to Singapore

Moving to Singapore? Ask our regular expats in Singapore questions on relocation and their experience here. Ask about banking, employment pass, insurance, visa, work permit, citizenship or immigration issues.

Sponsored by:

Utrust Immigration
angieh

Unmarried Australian spouse following partner to Singapore

Post by angieh » Sun, 15 Feb 2015 5:09 pm

Hello everyone,
I hope you can help me. My boyfriend has been offered great role in Singapore and moves end March. He wants me to follow in approx 2 months. We are both in our late 40's with grown children from previous marriages and we are keen for a new adventure.

We are not married and not a de facto couple because we live in different cities in Australia. We each have our own home in Australia. We are thinking of marrying in another year or two but I don't want to rush it just to satisfy entry requirements.

I am a senior manager in Community Services sector but do not have a university degree. From what I read, I don't think I will qualify for employment pass. And because we are not married, it seems I couldn't get the Dependant pass either.
Can anyone advise what my options would be for living in Singapore with my boyfriend? Is there any way I could expect to be able to work? (He will support me financially if necessary but I would prefer to be contributing financially even if low pay).
Any advice would be most appreciated. Thank you.
Angie

PNGMK
Answers: 10

Re: Unmarried Australian spouse following partner to Singapo

Post by PNGMK » Sun, 15 Feb 2015 6:14 pm

angieh wrote:Hello everyone,
I hope you can help me. My boyfriend has been offered great role in Singapore and moves end March. He wants me to follow in approx 2 months. We are both in our late 40's with grown children from previous marriages and we are keen for a new adventure.