Singapore Expats Forum

How can I use Turbo TAX for 2014 Tax return??

Moving to Singapore? Ask our regular expats in Singapore questions on relocation and their experience here. Ask about banking, employment pass, insurance, visa, work permit, citizenship or immigration issues.
Post Reply
kjjib00
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon, 30 Sep 2013 7:12 am

How can I use Turbo TAX for 2014 Tax return??

Post by kjjib00 » Mon, 26 Jan 2015 9:48 pm

Hi
I moved here from USA from 2013. December.
When I reported 2013 Tax return, I made a contract with agent which was very expensive. (~ $700).
So I'd like to use Turbo TAX for 2014 tax return but there are several questions.
-My address is Singapore. How can I update the address accordingly?
-I don't have W2 anymore. How can I report for 2014 tax return ?
Except salary from my company, I don't have any income.
Is there someone can give me advice about this?
It would be really appreciated.
Thanks

User avatar
maneo
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat, 15 Mar 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Tropical cosmopolitan island

Re: How can I use Turbo TAX for 2014 Tax return??

Post by maneo » Mon, 26 Jan 2015 9:57 pm

I used TaxAct last year.
It allowed me to use a Singapore address.

It also allowed me to enter income without a W-2 and there's no requirement for including the IR8A in the submission.

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 36500
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004 1:26 pm
Location: Retired on the Little Red Dot

Re: How can I use Turbo TAX for 2014 Tax return??

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Mon, 26 Jan 2015 10:33 pm

I just download the fill-able PDF forms, instructions (if there are changes) and fill it out and send it in, much the same as I do every year for the past 30 years (okay, only downloading probably for the last 15 to 18 years). It would seem I've recuperated okay from the FATCA bullshit but it took a lot of work going back 7 years, as a former tax accountant, I still had all my applicable tax records for the past 30 or so years. :o

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11630
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004 12:13 am
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Re: How can I use Turbo TAX for 2014 Tax return??

Post by Strong Eagle » Tue, 27 Jan 2015 1:32 am

kjjib00 wrote:Hi
I moved here from USA from 2013. December.
When I reported 2013 Tax return, I made a contract with agent which was very expensive. (~ $700).
So I'd like to use Turbo TAX for 2014 tax return but there are several questions.
-My address is Singapore. How can I update the address accordingly?
-I don't have W2 anymore. How can I report for 2014 tax return ?
Except salary from my company, I don't have any income.
Is there someone can give me advice about this?
It would be really appreciated.
Thanks
I don't understand the issue. You can enter foreign address into TT: https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/25798 ... n-turbotax" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

You can also add foreign earned income: https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/24529 ... the-income" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

You don't need to file any supporting tax documents for reporting income. This section of TT also lets you calculate your foreign earned income and housing exclusions.

I believe you can efile your return with a foreign address but you cannot file an extension through TT. However, I think you can efile an extension for living out of country at the IRS website.

Post Reply


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Relocating, Moving to Singapore”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest