Singapore Expats

Fresh grad, no work exp, in need of advice!

Moving to Singapore? Ask our regular expats in Singapore questions on relocation and their experience here. Ask about banking, employment pass, insurance, visa, work permit, citizenship or immigration issues.

Sponsored by:

Utrust Immigration
vesch

Fresh grad, no work exp, in need of advice!

Post by vesch » Sun, 25 Jan 2015 3:26 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm completely new to this wonderful forum, so if there already is a thread like this one and I haven't found it, I'm sorry and could you point me in the right direction?

I have a difficult dilemma, and I don't really know how to solve it. I need some advice because it seems pretty hopeless at the moment.

The thing is, my boyfriend is Singaporean, I myself am European and we met while studying abroad. I'll be graduating college (undergraduate) in June and he has a year left on his degree in Singapore. Thus, it make sense that I'd be relocating to Singapore ideally this summer. But, I just have random unpaid internships and volunteer experience in any relevant field to my degree, not the kind of work experience the MoM seems to be looking for these days (according to this forum, at least). I've been looking around this forum and it seems that my employment prospects in Singapore are pretty bad.

(I'm majoring in Sociology, and have intern/volunteer experience in teaching intercultural communication, facilitating intergroup dialogues on social justice, planning and managing events/meetings, support... that kind of thing)

Q1:
Are internships just as difficult to find as jobs? (It would be a short-term solution, but better than nothing.)

Q2: