Singapore Expats Forum

Do Canadian TVs work In Singapore?

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
Shermy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat, 22 Nov 2014

Do Canadian TVs work In Singapore?

Postby Shermy » Sat, 27 Dec 2014 3:32 am

Hi, it's boxing day and there are some great deals on TVs... however, as we are moving to Singapore in a few weeks, I'm not sure whether to get a TV as I do not know if they will work... I know I have to look for 100-240 V and 50-60W, those I can get (e.g. LG or Sony) but not sure about the TV system, i.e. it is NTSC here and PAL over there... Should I just buy it there? Would NTSC TVs work there? Are there gadgets/gizmos that you can use? Many thanks in advance for your comments/suggestions/advice
Cheers

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11062
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Re: Do Canadian TVs work In Singapore?

Postby Strong Eagle » Sat, 27 Dec 2014 4:46 am

A pure Canadian TV will not work as yours is NTSC and Asia is PAL. You can buy multi-system TV's... I own one... but they will cost more in the USA/Canada... and maybe less than one in Singapore.

Courts in Singapore gives a reasonable approximation of what you will pay for a TV in Sinagpore... prices are in Singapore dollars.

http://www.courts.com.sg/search/go?w=TV

Shermy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat, 22 Nov 2014

Re: Do Canadian TVs work In Singapore?

Postby Shermy » Sat, 27 Dec 2014 5:55 am

Many thanks for the prompt reply! Will look if I can find the multi-system ones... if not, I guess we'll have to get one in Singapore. Cheers

User avatar
zzm9980
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6841
Joined: Wed, 06 Jul 2011
Location: Once more unto the breach

Re: Do Canadian TVs work In Singapore?

Postby zzm9980 » Sat, 27 Dec 2014 6:48 pm

Honestly having just been through this exercise, almost every new TV I looked at (say anything made in past 3 years) has been both NTSC and PAL. The hardest part was making sure it supported both 110v and 240v. Most of the TVs I looked at in the US only did 110v. Even across the same brands, some models did both and others didn't. If you're looking for a new one, I found some LGs and some Sonys that did both. I'd strongly suggest though going to a shop and looking at the back of the TV physically first to confirm it is dual before purchasing.

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9314
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Re: Do Canadian TVs work In Singapore?

Postby x9200 » Sat, 27 Dec 2014 9:15 pm

Out of curiosity, has anybody tried his luck with the tv set manufacturers if there was an option to replace the power supply PCB? Everything right now is modular so I would expect in 90% of cases instead of buying some unreliable, overpriced external transformer it should be possible to get the PCB for much lower price.

User avatar
zzm9980
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6841
Joined: Wed, 06 Jul 2011
Location: Once more unto the breach

Re: Do Canadian TVs work In Singapore?

Postby zzm9980 » Sat, 27 Dec 2014 10:12 pm

x9200 wrote:Out of curiosity, has anybody tried his luck with the tv set manufacturers if there was an option to replace the power supply PCB? Everything right now is modular so I would expect in 90% of cases instead of buying some unreliable, overpriced external transformer it should be possible to get the PCB for much lower price.


I did consider it actually. My last TV purchased in Singapore was a model number 'XXXXXXX-SEA' where the SEA i found out was meant for Southeast Asia. There was a -NA, and a few others. I wondered if it was just a firmware flash for the menu and whatever else. But honestly, it wasn't worth the effort at the time to bring itback to the US and putz with it. This time, I found something that was a deal that worked here so again no need.

User avatar
PNGMK
Governor
Governor
Posts: 5675
Joined: Thu, 21 Mar 2013
Location: Sinkapore

Re: Do Canadian TVs work In Singapore?

Postby PNGMK » Sun, 28 Dec 2014 9:16 pm

IF you bring a Canadian TV to Singapore all it will do it fizz and occasionally display a blurred image of a maple leaf.
IANAL. IANACPA. IANA Teacher.
Arrested? Lawyer Up
International School job? School website or http://www.ISS.edu
School advice? Avoid for profit schools
Tax advice? CPA
Pay me $5k for 100% success filling in PR form!

Shermy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat, 22 Nov 2014

Re: Do Canadian TVs work In Singapore?

Postby Shermy » Mon, 29 Dec 2014 2:45 am

ha-ha! yes, I can imagine as it was the same when moving from a different region/system to Canada...
As Strong Eagle mentioned (and the guy at BestBuy confirmed), multi system (if available) would be very expensive and most likely not worth buying...
I guess we'll go shopping in Singapore... Any suggestions for a good electronics store with good prices/deals?
Many thanks!

User avatar
zzm9980
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6841
Joined: Wed, 06 Jul 2011
Location: Once more unto the breach

Re: Do Canadian TVs work In Singapore?

Postby zzm9980 » Mon, 29 Dec 2014 9:44 am

Shermy wrote:ha-ha! yes, I can imagine as it was the same when moving from a different region/system to Canada...
As Strong Eagle mentioned (and the guy at BestBuy confirmed), multi system (if available) would be very expensive and most likely not worth buying...
I guess we'll go shopping in Singapore... Any suggestions for a good electronics store with good prices/deals?
Many thanks!


Don't give up that easily. I went to Costco in the US and the TVs with multiple power support (110-240v) were no more expensive than comparable models. In fact, the ones that had it were cheaper than the ones I actually wanted. It was more just random than a higher-end feature they added. I paid about $500 USD for a 55" LG 240Hz, not 4k. This was 6 weeks ago. At the time the same TV would have been at least double in Singapore per my friends who checked.

As for NTSC/PAL, you'll probably have a harder time finding a modern TV that doesn't support both than once that supports the dual-power. If you use HDMI connections anyway, it's irrelevant for compatibility. It will just matter more for how the frame is rendered.

Shermy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat, 22 Nov 2014

Re: Do Canadian TVs work In Singapore?

Postby Shermy » Mon, 29 Dec 2014 1:53 pm

Multiple power support does not seem to be the problem... most of both, LG and Sony, are set with the 100-240V 50-60Hz... my main concern would be the NTSC/Pal, as all TVs in Canada are NTSC only... Does an HDMI connection solve the issue? i.e. from the TV provider box to the actual TV?
Thanks for the advice

User avatar
zzm9980
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6841
Joined: Wed, 06 Jul 2011
Location: Once more unto the breach

Re: Do Canadian TVs work In Singapore?

Postby zzm9980 » Mon, 29 Dec 2014 11:19 pm

Digital sources (hdmi) will support both. NTSC vs pal will mean different frame rates on your HD, but that's a non issue for you.

If the TV really doesn't support PAL (I'd be shocked, it's probably just not mentioned) then you'll only have issues with OTA broadcasts and if you try to use something they doesn't offer hdmi out. Which isn't much these days.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11062
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Re: Do Canadian TVs work In Singapore?

Postby Strong Eagle » Tue, 30 Dec 2014 12:54 am

zzm9980 wrote:Digital sources (hdmi) will support both. NTSC vs pal will mean different frame rates on your HD, but that's a non issue for you.

If the TV really doesn't support PAL (I'd be shocked, it's probably just not mentioned) then you'll only have issues with OTA broadcasts and if you try to use something they doesn't offer hdmi out. Which isn't much these days.


Here is something else to consider. NTSC and PAL are dying/dead broadcast technologies... I don't think you can find any NTSC broadcasts at all in the USA. About the only reason you would want a NTSC TV was if you wanted to watch something on an ancient VCR.

What matters more (HDMI aside) is the digital over the air capabilities of your TV. OTA standards are different all over the world. The USA and Canada uses ATSC for OTA, Europe and Singapore uses DTB-T. Therefore, your Canadian purchased TV will not bring in OTA channels in Singapore and your Singapore purchased TV will not bring in OTA signals in Canada.

I've randomly looked at several late model TV manuals in Singapore and the USA. Not a single one of them provides dual digital transmission support... and actually, there are four OTA digital transmission standards.

Cable and satellite transmissions are different as well but are essentially becoming meaningless as cable and satellite providers switch to encrypted signals which require their own decoding boxes, rendering these standards useless.

The OP really ought to ask the following questions.

a) Will I be using only cable service in Singapore/Canada, and therefore all I need is HDMI inputs?
b) If I want OTA transmissions, would I prefer to use this in Canada or Singapore (there aint much in Singapore).
c) How long do I think I'm going to own this TV?

Shermy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat, 22 Nov 2014

Re: Do Canadian TVs work In Singapore?

Postby Shermy » Mon, 12 Jan 2015 6:33 am

Thank you all for your feedback/advice. We arrived and decided to buy a TV here in Singapore, potentially having a $2,000+ TV as screensaver seemed not a prudent expense... plus I already found some interesting offers at Courts.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest