Singapore Expats

Relocating to Singapore on a Shoestring budget

Moving to Singapore? Ask our regular expats in Singapore questions on relocation and their experience here. Ask about banking, employment pass, insurance, visa, work permit, citizenship or immigration issues.

Sponsored by:

Utrust Immigration
jishnudg

Relocating to Singapore on a Shoestring budget

Post by jishnudg » Fri, 28 Nov 2014 7:55 pm

Hi!

Just registered on this forum, and its amazing how much information there is in this forum. So a short introduction...I'm a 24 year old architect/BIM coordinator based in New Delhi, India, and am currently applying to Singapore based companies. I'm hopeful that I'll be able to relocate by early next year, but have a few questions that I'd love some advice on.

1. I'm going on a shoestring budget, have no way to get a loan immediately, and will have to survive on bare essentials for a while. How can I optimize on day to day living expenses?

2. (1) wouldn't be a huge problem, but for the fact that I have a significant amount of time investment in an after hours web based startup that I've been working on getting off the ground, in BIM consultancy. For this, I'd definitely prefer single accommodation, that isn't too far from the city center - - which, common sense tells me, would not come cheap. Any innovative solutions to this? I don't even mind staying in a tiny setup, could even be a 10ft x 10ft room with attached bath and no utilities whatsoever - -floor's the limit.

Looking forward to inputs on this! Thanks,all!

J.

taxico
Director
Director

Re: Relocating to Singapore on a Shoestring budget

Post by taxico » Fri, 28 Nov 2014 9:11 pm

jishnudg wrote:Hi!