Singapore Expats

Undergraduate Dissertation Research: PRs in Singapore

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.
kdally

Undergraduate Dissertation Research: PRs in Singapore

Post by kdally » Sat, 08 Nov 2014 12:48 am

Hello!
My name is Kate Dally and I am currently studying Geography at the University of Exeter. I am in the process of conducting research for my final year dissertation and I am focusing upon Singaporean Permanent Residents and their experiences living in Singapore.
My Research Question is: “To what extent does becoming a Permanent Resident in Singapore influence expatriate personal identities?”

I would really appreciate it if, on this discussion forum you could perhaps share with me some of your experiences as a Permanent Resident living in Singapore focusing on:
• Whether your time spent in Singapore influences your association with your nation. i.e. do you now emphasize more with Singapore as home compared to the country where you were born?
• What factors affect your own sense of personal identity (whether it be parents nationality, where you grew up, values etc…)
• What culture do you associate yourself with and why?

This is a discussion post so please feel free to elaborate on certain themes and share experiences which you believe if and have influenced your own identity since living in Singapore!

The data I collect from this forum will be used in my Undergraduate Dissertation, which shall be read by my academic tutor. However I am following a code of ethical guidelines and therefore I shall be adhering to a strict confidentiality schematic and not publish names within my research.

Thank you very much for your time and effort and please do not hesitate to contact me at [email protected] or through my Linkedin Profille: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?i ... rk=spm_pic

JR8
Immortal
Immortal