Singapore Expats Forum

Forum Upgraded!

Announcements, promotions, news, help. Ask about registrations, avatars, PM and others. Post all your forum and Singapore Expats site related questions here.
User avatar
rajagainstthemachine
Manager
Manager
Posts: 2827
Joined: Sat, 24 Nov 2012 10:45 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by rajagainstthemachine » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 4:59 pm

i can't view or post a thing using the windows phone IE browser anymore, I can see the drop down options but its not long enough for me to choose one of the options and click on it
I am therefore able to access the forum via desktop only at the moment.
To get there early is on time and showing up on time is late

User avatar
Wd40
Director
Director
Posts: 3975
Joined: Tue, 04 Dec 2012 10:53 am
Location: SIndiapore

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by Wd40 » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 5:04 pm

Windows 8.1 has tapatalk. I am installing it as I write this....

User avatar
Wd40
Director
Director
Posts: 3975
Joined: Tue, 04 Dec 2012 10:53 am
Location: SIndiapore

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by Wd40 » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 5:09 pm

Posting this from tapatalk from a Windows phone ;)

Pal
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1289
Joined: Wed, 23 Jul 2003 2:44 am
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by Pal » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 5:17 pm

rajagainstthemachine wrote:i can't view or post a thing using the windows phone IE browser anymore, I can see the drop down options but its not long enough for me to choose one of the options and click on it
I am therefore able to access the forum via desktop only at the moment.
Can you clear your cache on your Windows phone browser?

This morning I was doing the drop down menu and there was a period that the drop down menu was unclickable (click to see drop down and it goes off immediately, just like you mentioned). I have rectified it and should be ok now if you are loading the latest page.

If still can't guess I will have to buy a Windows phone for testing ](*,)
Singapore Expats

Home | Classifieds | Condo | Forum | Property
Image

Pal
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1289
Joined: Wed, 23 Jul 2003 2:44 am
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by Pal » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 5:17 pm

Wd40 wrote:Posting this from tapatalk from a Windows phone ;)
Like x 100!
Singapore Expats

Home | Classifieds | Condo | Forum | Property
Image

Pal
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1289
Joined: Wed, 23 Jul 2003 2:44 am
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by Pal » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 5:19 pm

rajagainstthemachine wrote:i can't view or post a thing using the windows phone IE browser anymore, I can see the drop down options but its not long enough for me to choose one of the options and click on it
I am therefore able to access the forum via desktop only at the moment.
Which phone do you recommend me getting for testing?
Singapore Expats

Home | Classifieds | Condo | Forum | Property
Image

User avatar
rajagainstthemachine
Manager
Manager
Posts: 2827
Joined: Sat, 24 Nov 2012 10:45 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by rajagainstthemachine » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 5:24 pm

Pal wrote:
rajagainstthemachine wrote:i can't view or post a thing using the windows phone IE browser anymore, I can see the drop down options but its not long enough for me to choose one of the options and click on it
I am therefore able to access the forum via desktop only at the moment.
Which phone do you recommend me getting for testing?
well i think any phone running windows 8 should suffice, i'd recommend at least a Lumia 630
To get there early is on time and showing up on time is late

User avatar
Wd40
Director
Director
Posts: 3975
Joined: Tue, 04 Dec 2012 10:53 am
Location: SIndiapore

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by Wd40 » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 5:31 pm

Posting this from windows mobile browser. The old version was better for the browser. I noticed a bug in this version. When I click view posts the drop down list opens and closes automatically. I had to hold it for sometime to prevent the options from closing again.

The old version.basically was the PC version displayed on the phone as well. This version is a mobile specific version and since everything needs to fit in the narrow phone screen width, there is lot of scrolling to do. But, I think once the teething problems are fixed this version is actually better

User avatar
Wd40
Director
Director
Posts: 3975
Joined: Tue, 04 Dec 2012 10:53 am
Location: SIndiapore

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by Wd40 » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 5:43 pm

Pal wrote:
rajagainstthemachine wrote:i can't view or post a thing using the windows phone IE browser anymore, I can see the drop down options but its not long enough for me to choose one of the options and click on it
I am therefore able to access the forum via desktop only at the moment.
Which phone do you recommend me getting for testing?
If you go to Naranjan in Little India, you can pick up a cheap Lumia 520 for $110, it has only 512MB RAM, which is decent for windows. Or you could pick up the Lumia 820 which comes with 1GB RAM for $180, like I did ;)

No warranty though, its an export set meant to be used in Mexico, lol.

http://www.quora.com/Why-is-a-512MB-RAM ... roid-phone" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
rajagainstthemachine
Manager
Manager
Posts: 2827
Joined: Sat, 24 Nov 2012 10:45 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by rajagainstthemachine » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 6:06 pm

Pal wrote:
Wd40 wrote:Posting this from tapatalk from a Windows phone ;)
Like x 100!
hmm ok let me try this eh? :-k
To get there early is on time and showing up on time is late

Pal
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1289
Joined: Wed, 23 Jul 2003 2:44 am
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by Pal » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 6:08 pm

Try it. It is easy and your phone will also get a notification like a normal sms.

I am now posting using Tapatalk too.
Singapore Expats

Home | Classifieds | Condo | Forum | Property
Image

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8337
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009 11:23 pm
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by nakatago » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 6:22 pm

Not with KitKat, it ain't. https://developer.android.com/about/ver ... itkat.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

If you're going with a platform, you might as well go with those that will showcase it at its best.

http://www.cnet.com/topics/phones/best-phones/windows/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010 12:43 pm
Location: K. Puki Manis

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by JR8 » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 6:24 pm

Pal wrote:This morning I was doing the drop down menu and there was a period that the drop down menu was unclickable (click to see drop down and it goes off immediately, just like you mentioned). I have rectified it and should be ok now if you are loading the latest page.
This is now working for me (Windows desktop/Opera browser)
'Do it or do not do it: You will regret both' - Kierkegaard

User avatar
Wd40
Director
Director
Posts: 3975
Joined: Tue, 04 Dec 2012 10:53 am
Location: SIndiapore

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by Wd40 » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 6:44 pm

nakatago wrote:
If you're going with a platform, you might as well go with those that will showcase it at its best.

http://www.cnet.com/topics/phones/best-phones/windows/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;


I always like picking up a slightly dated phone with top specs rather than a new launch low end phone. Ofcourse the best option is to buy a flagship latest launch if you don't care splurging $$$.

Those prices in the list are with carrier contracts.

User avatar
ecureilx
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 9811
Joined: Fri, 20 Aug 2010 5:18 pm

Re: Forum Upgraded!

Post by ecureilx » Tue, 04 Nov 2014 6:50 pm

I switched to Tapatalk, but I didn't create another account

Works fine for me though and retained my credentials

Post Reply


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Announcement, Help & FAQ”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests