Singapore Expats Forum

Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Announcements, promotions, news, help. Ask about registrations, avatars, PM and others. Post all your forum and Singapore Expats site related questions here.
Pal
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1203
Joined: Wed, 23 Jul 2003
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby Pal » Wed, 05 Nov 2014 8:44 am

could still be less, as this is tweak-able
Are you talking about the editor page?

on my browser it's about 1/4 of the overall width, a 1/16th would be welcome, but at least 1/8th.
The side bar has to be 300px min

- How about a border for stickys? the new icon colors help somewhat
Have you seen the new sticky icons?
screenshot.jpg
Singapore Expats

Home | Classifieds | Condo | Forum | Property
Image

User avatar
Brah
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1962
Joined: Sat, 18 Dec 2010

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby Brah » Wed, 05 Nov 2014 7:26 pm

[quote="Pal"] could still be less, as this is tweak-able
Are you talking about the editor page?
I don't know what that is, I'm talking about the height of posts.

on my browser it's about 1/4 of the overall width, a 1/16th would be welcome, but at least 1/8th.
The side bar has to be 300px min
Wow, that is wide. Is that what it is set to now?

- How about a border for stickys? the new icon colors help somewhat
Have you seen the new sticky icons?
Yes as mentioned they help, but a simple narrow color bar would be even better
Ape Shall Not Kill Ape.

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9320
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby x9200 » Thu, 06 Nov 2014 9:06 am

Pal wrote:How are the Stickies icons now?

I can live with it - no problem with fast scrolling down to the regular section.

bgd
Editor
Editor
Posts: 1396
Joined: Wed, 25 Jul 2007

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby bgd » Thu, 06 Nov 2014 10:23 am

This morning formatting for me is completely haywire. Some messages are appearing with the adverts, menu buttons have disappeared and frames are all over the place. Basically unusable. Previously everything was fine.

I'm using IE8, it's an enterprise version and won't be changed until next year.

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby nakatago » Thu, 06 Nov 2014 10:37 am

bgd wrote:I'm using IE8, it's an enterprise version and won't be changed until next year.


Sounds like IE8 has wonky CSS/templates support (I didn't check).

Hmmm...prickly issue since even Microsoft wants to kill IE8. http://www.theverge.com/2014/8/7/597957 ... f-internet

It's not as bad as IE6 but still...

I'm guessing that's a work computer? If yes, why are you dicking around the internet on it for? :P :lol:

EDIT: it seems there are browsers that you can "install" portable mode...i.e. don't need admin rights. Again, I didn't check in detail (too lazy).

bgd
Editor
Editor
Posts: 1396
Joined: Wed, 25 Jul 2007

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby bgd » Thu, 06 Nov 2014 10:46 am

It was perfectly fine ealier this morning and then suddenly changed.

Of course it's a work computer, wouldn't be using IE anything for my personal stuff 8-)

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby nakatago » Thu, 06 Nov 2014 10:48 am

bgd wrote:It was perfectly fine ealier this morning and then suddenly changed.

Of course it's a work computer, wouldn't be using IE anything for my personal stuff 8-)



I'd count trawling the local message board as personal stuff. Get off IE8, you silly person!

Image

bgd
Editor
Editor
Posts: 1396
Joined: Wed, 25 Jul 2007

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby bgd » Thu, 06 Nov 2014 11:09 am

Damn, I can't even quote - tha's another button missing.

If I had any choice I wouldn't be using IE8. Oh well, guess I'll just have to work instead. :(

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby JR8 » Thu, 06 Nov 2014 11:21 am

bgd wrote:Damn, I can't even quote - tha's another button missing.
If I had any choice I wouldn't be using IE8. Oh well, guess I'll just have to work instead. :(


How strange, I just tested that in IE8 desktop, and the Quote " icon is there in the top right of the post window as clear as day.

Hmmm...
'Do it or do not do it: You will regret both' - Kierkegaard

Pal
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1203
Joined: Wed, 23 Jul 2003
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby Pal » Thu, 06 Nov 2014 11:30 am

Bgd if it works this morning should work now cos we didn't change much on layout. We removed the Facebook like box last night and reinstated it later this morning.

Clear cache and click refresh and see if it helps.
Singapore Expats



Home | Classifieds | Condo | Forum | Property

Image

Pal
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1203
Joined: Wed, 23 Jul 2003
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby Pal » Thu, 06 Nov 2014 11:34 am

Tapatalk is so convenient. I am doing grocery shopping now.
Singapore Expats



Home | Classifieds | Condo | Forum | Property

Image

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9320
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby x9200 » Thu, 06 Nov 2014 11:39 am

nakatago wrote:
bgd wrote:It was perfectly fine ealier this morning and then suddenly changed.

Of course it's a work computer, wouldn't be using IE anything for my personal stuff 8-)



I'd count trawling the local message board as personal stuff. Get off IE8, you silly person

I would like too contribiute to this browser chaos: IE7 crashes wine while opening http://forum.singaporeexpats.com. Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS.

Pal
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1203
Joined: Wed, 23 Jul 2003
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby Pal » Thu, 06 Nov 2014 2:46 pm

I will work on the IE fixes this week. Hope to find a solution, sorry for the inconvenience.
Singapore Expats



Home | Classifieds | Condo | Forum | Property

Image

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby nakatago » Thu, 06 Nov 2014 5:19 pm

x9200 wrote:
nakatago wrote:
bgd wrote:It was perfectly fine ealier this morning and then suddenly changed.

Of course it's a work computer, wouldn't be using IE anything for my personal stuff 8-)



I'd count trawling the local message board as personal stuff. Get off IE8, you silly person

I would like too contribiute to this browser chaos: IE7 crashes wine while opening http://forum.singaporeexpats.com. Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS.


What I want to know is why are you running IE7 through WINE?!?

Guest

Re: Software change by Admin. Please revert this.

Postby Guest » Thu, 06 Nov 2014 6:13 pm

nakatago wrote:
x9200 wrote:
nakatago wrote:I'd count trawling the local message board as personal stuff. Get off IE8, you silly person

I would like too contribiute to this browser chaos: IE7 crashes wine while opening http://forum.singaporeexpats.com. Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS.


What I want to know is why are you running IE7 through WINE?!?

Because "This webpage is optimized for Internet Explorer." (and you can not use anything else) is still some corporate IT reality.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Announcement, Help & FAQ”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest