Singapore Expats

What do you wish you had known beforehand?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
misericorde88

What do you wish you had known beforehand?

Post by misericorde88 » Tue, 21 Oct 2014 7:01 am

Hi, I'm currently a graduate student in the U.S. and am considering pursuing a job internationally upon graduation. What do you wish you had known before taking an overseas assignment?

Also, do you think there is any training specific to Singapore I ought to get if I take an assignment there?

nakatago

Post by nakatago » Tue, 21 Oct 2014 7:45 am

"A quokka is what would happen if there was an anime about kangaroos."

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Tue, 21 Oct 2014 8:42 am

^^ And there are a lot more if you use that graduate learning to mine the excellent search function of this site in the menu bar at the top of the page. Then, if you have any additional specific questions, fire away. ;-)
SOME PEOPLE TRY TO TURN BACK THEIR ODOMETERS. NOT ME. I WANT PEOPLE TO KNOW WHY I LOOK THIS WAY. I'VE TRAVELED A LONG WAY, AND SOME OF THE ROADS WEREN'T PAVED. ~ Will Rogers

JR8
Immortal
Immortal

Re: What do you wish you had known beforehand?

Post by JR8 » Tue, 21 Oct 2014 10:21 am

misericorde88 wrote:Hi, I'm currently a graduate student in the U.S. and am considering pursuing a job internationally upon graduation. What do you wish you had known before taking an overseas assignment?

Also, do you think there is any training specific to Singapore I ought to get if I take an assignment there?
I don't know if it gets discussed in those linked topics... Anyway, it would be interesting to know why you're considering going for a job abroad. That kind of urge tends to come a bit later in one's career.