Singapore Expats Forum

dp holder taking up diploma course, pass renewal question

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

addiegirl

dp holder taking up diploma course, pass renewal question

Postby addiegirl » Fri, 05 Sep 2014 5:52 pm

Hi all.

I am a dp holder and my husband has an s pass. We are in the process of renewing our passes but my husband's manager told him that my dp might not be approved by MOM due to the new criteria.

My question is, I am currently studying part time at a private advertising school here. It's a 2 yr diploma course and I started in may last yr and will be finishing July next year. I signed a contract stating that I will have to pay the school in the event that I will end the contract prematurely (since I am paying monthly). What happens if my dp renewal will be rejected?
The school can't apply for student visa since it's private. Also, if it gets rejected, is there a chance that my dp can be extended, appealed, or approved until I finish school?

Thanks so much for your advice. I tried to look it up but I can't find any related info.

beppi
Manager
Manager

Postby beppi » Mon, 08 Sep 2014 4:26 pm

Your DP is tied to the sponsoring EP's validity.
Thus if your husband's EP is not renewed, your DP will be gone.
If then you want to stay in Singapore longer than the 30-days SVP that is automatically given on cancellation of your current pass, you will need another visa given for the purpose for which you intend to stay (i.e. EP for employment, Student Pass for learning, etc.).
If you cannot get another such visa, you will have to leave Singapore.

sundaymorningstaple

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Mon, 08 Sep 2014 4:52 pm