Singapore Expats Forum

Social Visit Pass

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

janz006

Social Visit Pass

Postby janz006 » Wed, 12 Jan 2005 11:13 pm

Hi guys, Im here in Singapore on a social visit pass. what are my chances of getting hired as IT Helpdesk / Desktop Technical Support ? I've 6+ years experience in this field. anybody have an idea how much is the salary range? thanks for your help.[/b]

Shadou
Regular
Regular

Postby Shadou » Thu, 13 Jan 2005 1:58 pm

Hi. I was in your shoes two years ago when I first arrived here. I took the chance, because of love, to come here without lining up a job first with high hopes that my IT skills would land me a job immediately. Well, was I ever in for a shock! I spent my first seven months searching high and low, contacting numerous companies and getting the impression that just maybe my skills weren't good enough. I have 12 years of experience in IT helpdesk, network administration and project management work and my first job I managed to start off at $5K/month. Not bad but not great either for IT helpdesk. I know that Barclays Capital is always in dire need of helpdesk support as they have a huge IT department. You might want to give them a try. I'm not sure if the IT industry is as bad as it once was here, since I have changed career fields. But be prepared to spend a few months on the ground looking. In order for a company to hire you, they will look at your CV and determine what sets you apart from the locals. 6 years of experience in helpdesk is really not alot and they will justify hiring a local over an expat because of the pay. They normally will pay expats more than the locals. In my first job, I was the only expat in my team and I was the only one that was making more than everyone else, even though we all did the same job.