Singapore Expats

What setup do you have?

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
Steve1960
Editor
Editor

What setup do you have?

Post by Steve1960 » Sat, 09 Aug 2014 4:19 pm

This came to mind following Strong Eagles post on network storage. I would like to hear how your home network is set up so that it might give me some ideas on how to improve mine as I am no IT expert and I know we have some here.

So to kick off with my setup and the issues I have:

Service provider is Singtel with 200Mbps fibre. Connected via the Singtel router which I would like to change for a better model but I am a little nervous about doing it as I have MIO TV and I am lead to believe the setup of a third party router to make MIO TV work is a little complex. If anyone has experience of doing this I would appreciate the advice.

Singtel router connected directly via Cat 5e cables to the MIO TV box, Smart DVD player (which we rarely ever use now) and an 8 port unmanaged switch.

The unmanaged switch is connected to the following via Cat 5e cables. UK TV VPN box, Apple TV box, living room Smart TV, Apple time Capsule, one of those wifi boxes that uses the apartment power supply circuit, supplying hard wiring to our daughters bedroom, supplying hard wiring to the living room office area. The Apple TC has a 1TB USB hard drive hanging off it for backup of photographs and video. The TC itself can be used to backup my wife's Macbook Air but you can't copy files to it as if it was a hard drive. Strange that!

I put the power supply WiFi connection in our bedroom for my wife, there are 3 metal partition walls between the living room router and the bedroom so there is virtually no signal at all and i didn't want to move the router. It's still not that good though partly because I have to connect the sender unit to an extension lead not directly to a wall socket. No choice unfortunately.