Singapore Expats Forum

Home access

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
Brah
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1956
Joined: Sat, 18 Dec 2010

Home access

Postby Brah » Fri, 01 Aug 2014 12:18 am

In the middle of an offline conversation about this, thought to bring it to the forum.

The various software required to install on one's home PC to access work PCs may or may not open up the company to more than your work session.

I am not regretting not having a dedicated PC just for that.

Was looking into Chromebooks for this, but they don't' support the software to connect to work any more, so may get a cheap laptop or something.

A bit of trying to close the stable door after the horse has bolted....

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Re: Home access

Postby nakatago » Fri, 01 Aug 2014 8:44 am

Brah wrote:In the middle of an offline conversation about this, thought to bring it to the forum.

The various software required to install on one's home PC to access work PCs may or may not open up the company to more than your work session.

I am not regretting not having a dedicated PC just for that.

Was looking into Chromebooks for this, but they don't' support the software to connect to work any more, so may get a cheap laptop or something.

A bit of trying to close the stable door after the horse has bolted....


Or use a virtual machine if dual-booting is too troublesome?

I'm thinking of cloning my personal PC (linux) onto an external hard drive and then booting that image from a different PC (windows) but haven't because I'm procrastinating.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10726
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Fri, 01 Aug 2014 11:24 am

For my entire professional career in Asia, I always traveled with two laptops... a pain... but kept my work and personal matters completely separated. For the contracts that I needed to use my personal PC, it was for email... I never connected to networks... using 3g dongles inside the offices. Never loaded the company's VPN or security software.

Beyond the fact that I didn't want someone looking at my PC, most secure corporate networks don't allow a "foreign" PC, even with loaded software, to access much of the network, because the PC is not registered as a configuration item in the company's security, software, and asset systems. Couldn't access shit anyway.

User avatar
taxico
Director
Director
Posts: 3188
Joined: Sat, 10 May 2008
Location: Existential dilemma!

Postby taxico » Fri, 01 Aug 2014 2:18 pm

i travel with 2 computers too - except i usually check in one netbook with its internal battery permanently removed (no attachable external battery either).

with the new US travel restrictions on "functioning" computers i may have to replace it with another laptop with removable battery.

i never travel with my "personal" laptop (or hard drive when relocating) - i don't like customs going through my files. never happened yet, but you'd never know.

be warned that many cheap laptops don't last very long once their warranty has lapsed (my experience).

so i usually recommend buying really cheap and back up often or spend a little more for something with a 3 year warranty.
Aut viam ad caelum inveniam aut faciam

bgd
Editor
Editor
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed, 25 Jul 2007

Postby bgd » Fri, 01 Aug 2014 2:47 pm

Or you could go the Apple route. I have one laptop which must be coming up to 9 years old now, still working well. Another 2 around 5 years old.

Can't say the same for the Mac Pro though. That one has just stopped working, again.

User avatar
Brah
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1956
Joined: Sat, 18 Dec 2010

Re: Home access

Postby Brah » Fri, 01 Aug 2014 7:24 pm

nakatago wrote:Or use a virtual machine if dual-booting is too troublesome?

I'm thinking of cloning my personal PC (linux) onto an external hard drive and then booting that image from a different PC (windows) but haven't because I'm procrastinating.

On a recommendation from zzm have downloaded VirtualBox, which I am totally new to, so if I can figure out how to use that to segregate the company pipe and/or programs that is a first step.

Really too bad the Chromebooks don't support the remote software., they are very affordable.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests