Singapore Expats

Setting up a new business in Singapore

Discuss your views about Singapore business & economy, current policies & issues, starting a business in Singapore.
sduthie13

Setting up a new business in Singapore

Post by sduthie13 » Mon, 30 Jun 2014 3:21 pm

I am considering setting up a subsidiary business in Singapore (i am a singapore resident) and would welcome any words of wisdom, advice and experiences please!

Also Can anyone recommend a good company that can arrange the incorporation for me?
Sarah

taxico
Director
Director

Re: Setting up a new business in Singapore

Post by taxico » Mon, 30 Jun 2014 6:16 pm

sduthie13 wrote:I am considering setting up a subsidiary business in Singapore (i am a singapore resident) and would welcome any words of wisdom, advice and experiences please!

Also Can anyone recommend a good company that can arrange the incorporation for me?
if you're a resident, it is entirely cheaper to incorporate it yourself first before handing it off to an accountant... it is not difficult nor very time consuming.
Aut viam ad caelum inveniam aut faciam

Strong Eagle
Answers: 10

Post by Strong Eagle » Mon, 30 Jun 2014 9:57 pm

By resident, do you mean citizen, PR, or on an work or employment pass?

By business do you mean a sole proprietorship, company, or LLP?

sduthie13

Post by sduthie13 » Tue, 01 Jul 2014 8:59 am

Apologies i should have been clearer, i am currently resident in Singapore on my husbands employment pass.

The business has a foreign head office and i believe the best type of company incorporation for this is a 'Subsidiary Company' office in Singapore that is basically treated as a separate entity or Limited Company??
Sarah

sduthie13

Post by sduthie13 » Tue, 01 Jul 2014 9:01 am

Taxico, is it still easy to incorporate the company myself?
Sarah

taxico
Director
Director

Post by taxico » Tue, 01 Jul 2014 9:28 am

choose a name, pay a name fee, wait for name approval (if necessary).