Singapore Expats

Hoping to teach (or something similar) in SG

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
trapjaw

Hoping to teach (or something similar) in SG

Post by trapjaw » Fri, 18 Apr 2014 4:26 am

Hi everyone! This is my first post here. My girlfriend is currently working in Singapore as a flight attendant for Singapore Airlines, and I'm hoping to move out there to join her and find a job in around 6 months or so (I'm currently back in South Africa assisting my elderly parents while my father is recovering from some major surgery, hence the delay.)

My background: I'm a South African male, 32, with a Masters degree in English Literature. I've spent most of the last decade of my life teaching English in Taiwan - cumulatively, I have around 7 years of experience there, teaching children from age 5 and up to adults. I also have a few years of experience tutoring first year English Lit students here in SA.

I've also done a fair bit of writing and editing - my main hobby is writing novels, novellas and short stories.

If anyone has any suggestions regarding what sort of employment I could possibly go for in Singapore, I would be most appreciative of your advice.

I will be visiting my girlfriend in Singapore in June, and I thought that that might be a good time to perhaps get my CV around to potential employers. PMs are welcome :)

taxico
Director
Director

Post by taxico » Fri, 18 Apr 2014 11:56 am

i know some independent schools hire candidates like you - but i assume since most of those expat teachers had a basic postgrad degree 15 years ago means candidates should probably have something higher or better than a master's degree today...

whether or not you'd need a singapore certificate in education from NIE i'm not sure. you'd need one to teach in a regular public school.