Singapore Expats

Afro-Caribbean hangouts/ events/ restaurants in Singapore?

Events and gatherings for the 20's Club
New2S'pore

Afro-Caribbean hangouts/ events/ restaurants in Singapore?

Post by New2S'pore » Mon, 24 Mar 2014 12:28 am

Hey!,

I'm new to Singapore, wondering if there are any Afro-Caribbean hangouts/ events/ restaurants in Singapore?

ChrisCH
Regular
Regular

Post by ChrisCH » Mon, 24 Mar 2014 11:05 pm

I have not been there personally, but I know that a Caribbean friend of mine loves the Lime House https://www.facebook.com/limehouse.asia

argeano

Re: Afro-Caribbean hangouts/ events/ restaurants in Singapore?

Post by argeano » Wed, 09 Aug 2017 4:40 am

Hello and how is everyone? my name is paul an I am a jamaican and I am planning to move to Singapore. How is Singapore for foreigners and especially for black people? How are black people treated in Singapore? I just need some insights. Thanks

x9200

Post by x9200 » Wed, 09 Aug 2017 8:25 am

argeano wrote:Hello and how is everyone? my name is paul an I am a jamaican and I am planning to move to Singapore. How is Singapore for foreigners and especially for black people? How are black people treated in Singapore? I just need some insights. Thanks
Open racism in Singapore is practically non-existent.
There are not many people of African/Caribbean origin (there are many dark skin Indians, Bangladeshi etc.) but the worst I would expect may happen is that the local people will stare at you. The same happens to White people in less central areas of Singapore. It is mostly curiosity and the Whites has their reputation (not that good), The Blacks, I believe not.
In Singapore, probably the only cases of open discriminations, are based on material status, but you won't be coming here as a maid or low paid construction worker.

In other words, don't worry, you will be fine and may sometimes even feel special in a positive sense of this word.