Singapore Expats

What is the chance I'll lose my job in Singapore? How soon?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

If and when will i lose my job?

By the end of this year
57%
beginning of next year
29%
after a few years
14%

Total votes: 7

Utsav

What is the chance I'll lose my job in Singapore? How soon?

Post by Utsav » Sun, 02 Mar 2014 9:29 pm

Hi,
I am an expat of Indian origin, age 31, living and working in Singapore for the past seven years. I work in a bank which is now moving jobs out of Singapore to cheaper locations. I work in product control/risk and there's news our department might become redundant as jobs are going offshore. My salary has stagnated for the last two years.
I plan to do an MBA and I've informed my Manager of my plans. However I've told them I don't plan to leave as there's no guarantee I'll get through.
They've assured me my job is safe till at least 2015.
What is the chance I'll lose my job and how soon?

Utsav

Post by Utsav » Sun, 02 Mar 2014 9:45 pm

I am in Singapore on an Employment Pass btw, my PR application has been rejected more than once.

rajagainstthemachine
Manager
Manager

Post by rajagainstthemachine » Sun, 02 Mar 2014 9:47 pm

Facepalm** are you asking an internet community to speculate on your career and future?
To get there early is on time and showing up on time is late

Utsav

Post by Utsav » Sun, 02 Mar 2014 9:54 pm

rajagainstthemachine wrote:Facepalm** are you asking an internet community to speculate on your career and future?
Why not? I don't know who else to ask & people here will have a fair idea of the job market & how things work here

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Sun, 02 Mar 2014 10:50 pm