Singapore Expats Forum

HDMI and TV

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

HDMI and TV

Postby ksl » Tue, 03 Apr 2012 1:18 am

I had my blueray disc connected to the TV with HDMI cable, Since I disconnected all power points due to renovation, I have had problems to get the Blueray working through HDMI.

I can see the picture play and setup of the blueray, but the picture keeps flickering on and off, and i see nothing but noise like the channel isn't tuned in. I have changed HDMI cables with no luck and wondering if the HDMI out put from the DVD is faulty.

Also disconnected from amp and changed cables, and its the same, So i have reverted to the red yellow and white cable to watch DVD. Any ideas why the HDMI is flickering between noise and picture ubable to use the DVD on screen setup?

I also suspect the TV memory cache is emptied after power disconnect, but it should find the DVD on auto when designated the AV channel

User avatar
QRM
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1831
Joined: Mon, 17 Oct 2005
Location: Nassim hill

Postby QRM » Tue, 03 Apr 2012 8:29 am

First rule out if its the TV do you have another hdmi component? playstation, video camera, try other HDMI ports on the TV.

The BD could have reset itself to factory default, often you have to tell the TV /BD the input should be set to Auto.

Some player/TV combo are a bit quirky and are sensitive to which item is turned on first.

Test the player on another TV, that way you can narrow down which item is playing up.

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby ksl » Tue, 03 Apr 2012 9:41 pm

QRM wrote:First rule out if its the TV do you have another hdmi component? playstation, video camera, try other HDMI ports on the TV.

The BD could have reset itself to factory default, often you have to tell the TV /BD the input should be set to Auto.

Some player/TV combo are a bit quirky and are sensitive to which item is turned on first.

Test the player on another TV, that way you can narrow down which item is playing up.
TV is ruled out QRM as I have my star hub setup box on HDMI so no need for tuning stations.

Thanks I'll check the default settings and test again.

I normally push the BD through my Pioneer ASX LX 50 along with the star hub setup box and Singtel Mio which work fine.

And I can see the BD setup flickering picture, and noise which makes me think its a tuning problem. I'll check it out shortly, have a lot of renovation going on just now. Thanks for your help!

User avatar
QRM
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1831
Joined: Mon, 17 Oct 2005
Location: Nassim hill

Postby QRM » Wed, 04 Apr 2012 9:24 am

I had the same problem with the western digital live box, I am no expert but it had something to do with the new decoding formats dts was constantly flashing on my amp. may be the new formats on the blueray doesnt work with the amp? try an old BD disk or DVD.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests