Singapore Expats

Getting an S Pass with a Criminal Record from the U.S.?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
rudolf

Getting an S Pass with a Criminal Record from the U.S.?

Post by rudolf » Tue, 01 Jun 2010 8:23 am

Okay so I have searched the archives and not found an answer to this question, so I am offering it up here. I have a degree from a good university in the U.S., I have decent work experience that would pertain to the job in Singapore, and I currently have a job offer at a company in Singapore.

They want to bring me in on a S Pass to see how they like me. They have sent me the S Pass form and I have begun filling it out. On page 7 of the form it asks:

(b) Have you ever been convicted in a court of law in any country?

I was convicted of a drug offense in the United States 14 year ago and finished my probation 12 years ago. In the United States and also in Canada once you have passed the 10 year mark with no additional problems with the law most agencies/companies consider your record to be something in the distant past and it isn't much of a factor anymore.

My question is does anyone know how the Ministry of Manpower views people with criminal records in their 'distant' past? Basically do I have any chance of getting a S Pass with my criminal record?

If it helps clarify things all my university schooling and personal development/ work experience occurred after the drug conviction and me getting my life back on track.

Mad Scientist
Director
Director
Answers: 4

Re: Getting an S Pass with a Criminal Record from the U.S.?

Post by Mad Scientist » Tue, 01 Jun 2010 9:12 am

rudolf wrote:ks:

(b) Have you ever been convicted in a court of law in any country?